Morning Tides

Sleep is slow to escape from my eyelids and hair and toes. I slide my legs around slowly under the blankets just to feel their softness against my body. I pull the down close to my face. I roll over one last time, punching the clock radio on to Lite FM before pulling my arm under my pillow, under my face.

My throat is dry and scratchy and I know I will not be going to work today. I smile to myself, stretch, and roll out of bed into the bathroom. It will be a good day.

4 responses to “Morning Tides

Leave a Reply

