A Letter of Thanks

Dear Ms, Mealia,

I’ve told you this many times before, but of all the teachers I’ve had in all my life, you are one of three who has made a tremendous impact on my life. I know I probably didn’t show it much by sleeping through your lectures and hiding in the darkroom to share gossip with the girls (you did know about that, right?), but it’s true. There were several times you gave me the support I needed to go on, whether through a smile or a few words of encouragement.

(No, “I can’t wait to retire,” does NOT count.)

To be honest, the other artists in the classes I took with you easily intimidated me. I thought they were better than me and deserved more work time because of it. You probably knew that, and even supported my need to work alone by allowing me to come in during my free periods and after school to get everything done for class.

You once told me, “There’s a book in you.” You might be right. I’ve been working on it all my life, I guess, writing it down and documenting it with photographs. And you should know that when that book is published, I owe its dedication to you.

Thank you for believing in me and supporting my dreams and creativity. May you find every happiness you deserve in your upcoming retirement, and I can only hope that when the time comes I can at least make a bold attempt at filling your shoes.

Wishing you all the best,
Caitlin

Leave a Reply

