26 Things: Signage

A long, long time ago I came across the website for 26 Things, a photographic scavenger hunt, and thought, “hey, this is pretty cool! I should do this!” And then of course I didn’t.

It’s probably not apparent since I haven’t posted much about it and what I have posted has probably been pretty cryptic, but I am on the verge of some monumental changes in my life. I’ve worked my way up to putting on the parachute, flying up to 13,000 feet, and standing at the open doorway. All I’ve got left to do is jump. My knuckles are white with fear but I’m starting to realize that I’m ready. I’m really ready.

But all this change takes a tremendous amount of work and effort and I haven’t had the time for blogging that I normally like to spend with it. So I’m going to switch gears a bit and try to do this 26 Things assignment (a really old one, from 2003) one day at a time. I’ll call it, “26 Things in 26 Days.” It might not actually happen in 26 consecutive days, but it will happen. I swear. Today I went out and took 212 photos. Somehow I still don’t have enough.

I promise more details will come regarding this monumental change and that I will not stop writing and posting my writing. But for now, I can only promise that the photos will be posted (almost) daily.

Today’s Thing: Signage.

5 responses to “26 Things: Signage

  • ducklet

    i remember 26 things from a few years back. i played twice, but was UNDERWHELMED with my photos, so i quit. there’s a lesson for you kids out there!

  • Karen

    Hmmm, sort of like anamnesis for photographers? Looks like fun.

  • the Caitlinator

    I like it, Brando. If at first (or second) you don’t succeed, quit! There are indeed too many people in this world who just don’t know when to give up.

    Karen, I’m having fun so far but I haven’t finished yet. We’ll see how I do when I get to the harder ones. I might end up cursing the 26 Things gods and crying piteously in a corner for a few days. I’ll be sure to keep you posted.

  • kat

    that reminds me of that p.t. barnum quote i like so much: if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again. then give up; there’s no sense being a damn fool about it.

  • the Caitlinator

    Kat, I’d never heard that but Barnum was definitely more eloquent than I. Sounds like good advice to me. No one wants to be a damn fool. At least not all the time.

Leave a Reply

