Pennies from Heaven

Found: On floor in entrance hallway to the E train as approached from the corner of Fifth Avenue and 53rd Street. One Canadian penny, 1970. Slightly sticky.

Circumstance: Feeling a bit down after a weekend of failures – failure to communicate, failure to drink tequila with virtual strangers, failure to secure a new job for school. Filled with self-doubt around the decision to teach art. What if the money doesn’t work out? What if I don’t work out?

Walk past an open art exhibit Jim told me about and venture inside. Many pieces done by students grades 1-8. I remember being an artist at that age. I am touched by their imaginativeness. I wonder if I am still artist enough to teach youth.

Dad was an art teacher. He winks and I pick up another penny from heaven.

3 responses to “Pennies from Heaven

  • Karen

    New resolve. New blog style.

    Go for it! The kids are waiting.

  • Summer

    Caitlin, I can’t image anyone more fit to help kids explore and express their imaginations.

    Really, you’ll be fantastic.

  • Sarah

    This gave me chills…I love when circumstance and coincidence converge; love to read the signs life puts in my path…sounds like you got a big one. Follow that heart…the kids need you.
    I was trying to find a link from a blogging friend of mine–pennies from heaven and her father being the topic, but she has recently moved her site and the archives are all messed up.

Leave a Reply

