Dying Tulips

There is something beautiful about dying tulips, the way they curl and blacken around the edges. It’s like their colors deepen to a beauty so intense they have nothing left to do but die, leaving me to wonder at the beauty left to their writhing bodies.

6 responses to “Dying Tulips

  • AnnieElf

    Cait, you have absolutely capture the down cycle of a tulip. I will never look at a dying tulip in the same way again. Rather, I will see it writhing.

  • Karen

    O-o-oh! Caitlin, that’s beautiful.

    You have given me words to apply to this image of dying tulips which has captivated me since I took it.

    Also you are reading The Shipping News, which is one of my all-time favourite books. (I wasn’t so happy with the movie, but it wasn’t as bad as I feared it might be.)

  • Heather Anne

    I love tulips.

    Also, good luck on that gym thing! And good for you. 🙂

  • the Caitlinator

    Annie – I think when it writhes, it does so in ecstasy, not agony. That’s how I want to go.

    Karen – Thank you SO MUCH for the photo. I’ve been wishing all day that I had my camera to capture the tulips that inspired this post.

    Heather Anne – Thank you! Tonight I start my very first karate class. That’s right. I said karate class. Hii—YA!

  • Bob

    I’ve always been fond of roses in fall, when the killing frost has arrived and the blooms are frozen in place. Y’know summer is over but for a little while the rose blooms try to hold it.

  • Tongue in Cheek Antiques

    true, and remindful that beauty is not just pretty and young.

Leave a Reply

