I’m Taking A Survey

I have a family function to attend in Connecticut in August and I have a few choices as far as how to get there. I need YOUR help in justifying my desire to choose option C.

Option A: Take the train to Poughkeepsie and drive over with my mom. Total cost: $25.50. Total time commitment: 6 hours round trip to Poughkeepsie, plus the drive to and from Connecticut.

Option B: Take the train to Danbury and get someone to come schlep me the rest of the way to the function, about 15 miles each way on back roads. Total cost: $21.50. Total time commitment: Not really sure, but I will be at the mercy of the people there to take me to and from the station.

Option C: Rent a car and drive myself. Total cost: $75 plus gas and tolls. Total time commitment: About four hours? Plus the freedom to come and go as I please, and maybe even get some bulk shopping done while I’m at it.

While option B seems to be most cost-effective (and I’m all about cost-effectiveness these days, with the excessive load of debt I’m currently suffering under), option C is so attractive because it doesn’t involve smelly subways or trains or kids crying or people talking on cell phones or me begging for a ride to the train station just when everyone’s having fun. Plus, I get to drive, which I hardly ever get to do anymore. I love to drive.

So you see. I need you. Please help.

7 responses to “I’m Taking A Survey

  • Sonal

    You know I will always vote for the car option.. you can also do all the shopping and not have to be hot on public transportation.

  • Caryn

    You should do what you want to do. You don’t need much more reason that that. This is a concept I’m trying to get more at home with myself. Your desire to do it can be reason enough to do it.

  • toadman

    If I were you…or rather, if it was I, or, if you were I, you would choose option C without hesitation.

    Not very convincing, but, well, there you go..

  • megapets

    choose option c. it will be the best thing for you. you will be more comfortable at the party and ultimately more happy. suck up the cost because you know you will be happy. 🙂 good luck!

  • ridiculous

    rent the car! look into renting outside of the city, where the rates are lower. my friends usually take a train to westchester or connecticut and pick up the car from there.

  • the Caitlinator

    Thanks all for your support! You’ve given me enough hope to at least RSVP that I’ll attend the function. And that is a very good first step.

  • AnnieElf

    RENT the car, Cait. After decades of cutting corners I regret not following the comfortable road from time to time. So RENT. Take your independence and sanity and freedom from smelly, noisy humanity. You won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

