The Show Goes On

My accounting skills are dismal. And so, now that I am unemployed and trying to pay my regular bills and then some (Welcome, health insurance bill! Welcome, tuition payments! Welcome, fingerprinting charges for substitute teaching!), I find myself curled in the corner, utilizing the fetal position, sucking my thumb, rocking back and forth, muttering, “When will it stop? When will it stop?”

Well, maybe not literally. But it’s still a scary sight.

I’ve come up to a few roadblocks in the last week or so:

1. I only managed to register for six credits. This means that although I am eligible for the school’s health insurance coverage, I am not eligible to defer my current student loans. I must be enrolled in 12 credits for that. So, I continue my astronomical student loan payments.

2. The good news is that I am eligible for the school’s health insurance coverage. The bad news is that it’s far more expensive than I anticipated. I will have to give up the prescription plan in order to make ends meet, at least for the rest of this year.

3. I had hoped to borrow from my 401k in order to pay off the balance of my credit card debt and this semester’s tuition, planning to pay it back with next year’s tax refund. But, since I am leaving my current job, they will not let me touch it until it rolls over into a new plan and I can prove I am able to make regular payments back into the account. This leaves me with hefty credit card payments. And no 401k, since I will only be working part-time.

(My eye is twitching again.)

4. I have the choice of paying off my tuition with my current credit card, signing up for the interest-free payment plan (which requires a hefty $500 up-front payment that I currently can’t afford), or trying to get an interest-free credit card to be used only for school and to be paid off within five months. Another large monthly payment.

5. If I want to be a substitute teacher in NY State, I need to be fingerprinted. This costs $115. That, of course, I don’t have.

6. Let’s not mention the regular monthly payments I have to make, like rent, electricity, gas, and food. Because that might just put me over the edge.

I may not have mentioned that I don’t yet have a part-time gig, and will be home three days without pay next week. Oh, and I will not have any health insurance coverage until September 1. So please, no one run me over with a truck.

Things are brewing, I’m trusting that everything will work out. I’m a capable young adult with lots to offer the right employers. But right now I am faced with the kinds of decisions I have never had to make for myself and to be perfectly honest, I think my head might be unscrewing from my neck and I’m not sure what I can do to stop it. Maybe wine and opera in the great outdoors tonight will help. I’ll be putting all my money on it.

5 responses to “The Show Goes On

  • Sonal

    Since when does it cost money to get fingerprinted.. Did you go to the Board of Ed in Brooklyn? If you are willing to sub in an elementary school let me know.. We are always in need of subs.

  • eclectic

    Since I don’t drive a truck, any truck that runs you over will NOT be driven by me, either before or after September 1. Just so you know.

    Hang in there, you’ll make it!

  • The G-man

    Money trouble sucks! Been through a fair amount of that myself in the last two year. I wish I had a big pot of money to loan/give you, but since I don’t, I wish I had some really great advice. I don’t have that either. I cashed out some 401(k) funds during a transitional phase. Seemed like a good idea at the time, until I had to pay my taxes. What a mess.
    At the risk of sounding cliche, keep your head up and hang in there. Good things happen to good people.

  • toadman

    All this cost makes me wonder why people even bother with education. It also makes me think that education must be for the rich only. It makes me think, too, about something Mark Twain once said (paraphrased from memory): “Principles only matter when one is well fed.”

    This makes me think that all of this will be ok after you have a little wine and opera.

    Good luck to you Caitlinator, I’m thinking good thoughts for you…those thoughts have a heafty amount of little fifty dollar bills flying your direction too…

  • the Caitlinator

    You guys are seriously the best. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

