Day One of Unemployment

Today I woke up in denial. Seriously. I woke up at 7:30 without my alarm clock, got up, showered, watched “Knight Rider” as usual (Michael got MARRIED), logged in, checked my e-mail and read blogs, and then I sat there and said, “NOW WHAT?”

Such an odd feeling. There are things I could be doing, sure. But why? I’m on vacation. Right?

So now that I don’t have health insurance, this little tiny rash I’ve had on my finger for the past four months has developed into an angry beastly thing that is threatening to devour my entire hand. I’ve attempted to defeat it with everything from anti-blackhead astringent to Lotrimin to Cortizone to high-powered laser beams and it won’t go away. I hope my new insurance card comes soon. Like, ON September 1. I am getting tired of the feeling of little chomping evilness on my finger. Like, enough already!

Apparently when I don’t have to work, I say “like” a lot.

Awesome.

6 responses to “Day One of Unemployment

  • fiction dept

    Like, maybe that rash is like a manifestation of your, like, worries, or something, you know?

    And like, I think your reaction to your first day of unemployment is, like, totally on the mark. Remember, now that you’re unemployed, you’ve got more time to like, figure out what you really want to do with your time instead of having to do what the man says.

  • eclectic

    Sept. 1 is just 3 days away. Make the appointment, like, now!!

  • Kiki

    LOL!!! I’m sure it will be absolutely fine. Your exagerrating reminds me of someone though *ahem* of course not myself. 🙂

    I got a big lecture on how much I say “like” and how I would appear 100% more intelligent if I would cut it out.

    It’s, like, hard though.

  • Kiki

    LOL!!! I’m sure it will be absolutely fine. Your exagerrating reminds me of someone though *ahem* of course not myself. 🙂

    I got a big lecture on how much I say “like” and how I would appear 100% more intelligent if I would cut it out.

    It’s, like, hard though.

  • ducklet

    when i don’t have to work, i tend to become intequilacated. ditto when i have to work.

  • ducklet

    when i don’t have to work, i tend to become intequilacated. ditto when i have to work.

Leave a Reply

