Milestones

There’s been a minor change to this website today. If I were more technically gifted, I would make it flash and sparkle and change colors and dance and do all kinds of exciting things. It is the sort of achievement I want to draw attention to. You see, it has been ONE WHOLE YEAR since I ate McDonalds food.

A year ago, I vowed to go 90 days without eating anything from McDonalds. I knew it would be difficult, because I really did have an emotional McDonalds addiction. I found it comforting yet disgusting. To me, the golden arches felt like home. At least, they did on the way in. On the way out, I usually wanted to throw up from self-disgust and also because the food is just plain gross.

I made it 90 days, though it wasn’t easy. There were several occasions where I had to remind myself that I’d put that challenge forth to myself in view for all to see. Sometimes that was the only thing that held me back. After 90 days, I “rewarded” myself by reading Fast Food Nation, which only made me vow never to eat any fast food ever again.

And so it went. I not only got myself off the McDonalds diet, but I have not eaten any fast food at all (except pizza) in close to a year. Beyond even THAT, I’ve improved my diet overall, and thanks to Neil’s exercise challenge, also managed to get myself on an exercise plan. In the last 12 months, I have lost 15 pounds and nearly two dress sizes.

I don’t think this is a coincidence. I think my self-image started to improve when I stopped binging on quarter pounders with cheese and Super Sized french fries. And soon enough, my actual image started to catch up with how I felt about myself.

I feel healthier. I’ve accomplished a goal. And if I have my way, I will never, EVER eat McDonalds again.

Leave a Reply

