Today’s Goal

I’m posting this early in case I need to refer back to it at any point today in order to remind myself what the heck I’m doing.

Today’s goal is to be there for myself.

I was supposed to start the new job today. Some clerical issues are getting in the way and I am in the unfortunate position of having to make some decisions. While this job had the perfect hours, a higher-than-expected pay rate, and a good use of my skill set, if I don’t start a job soon (like tomorrow) I am going to be in some real financial trouble right quick. That is not something I can really ignore much longer. So I have to be there for myself enough to make some calls, assert myself a little, and get myself some kind of financial income, if not by the end of today, then definitely by the end of this week.

I also need to start making other calls about financial issues. My health insurance bill came over the weekend and was about $200 than I’d been quoted. I’ll have to call them to find out what’s up and to explain to them that I’m sort of unemployed and do they have payment plans? Or take credit cards? Otherwise… I hope I’ve enjoyed the last two weeks of health insurance because that might be about to lapse.

Luckily the finger rash thing seems to be improving. I finally launched a three-pronged attack: Lamisil in the morning, antibiotic cream at lunchtime, and Cortizone in the evening. It seems to work as long as I don’t miss any doses.

And I’ve really got to call up my student loan providers to make sure they know that I’m currently unemployed and in school and that I want these things deferred. I do not want to accrue any penalties for nonpayment. I’ll be getting enough of those from my electric, credit card, and gas bills.

I’m trying to keep a chin up, but right now I feel like I’ve been treading water for weeks and honestly, I’m starting to get a little tired.

That’s why I have to remember: the goal for today is: be there for myself. And to use as many colons as possible in a single sentence.

10 responses to “Today’s Goal

Leave a Reply

