On the Job

I started my new job today. It’s not exactly exciting and not exactly philanthropic, but it will pay the bills. In fact, with what I earned today, I will likely get one month’s worth of electricity and two months’ worth of gas. I might even get a month of phone service. I’m on my way.

My new office is all the way downtown, directly across the street from the World Trade Center site. I have not been down there since right after 9/11 and I have to be honest that I was a little taken aback by what it’s still like down there. That always, always was one of my favorite places in the city. When I was down or having a bad day, I would take a ride down there, walk through the plaza between the towers, over the glass-enclosed overpass into the World Financial building and through to the Battery Park promenade, where I could sit on the grass and watch the sun set over the Statue of Liberty. Now as I walk through I can see only shadows of those days. I was perhaps ignorantly surprised at how much of the wreckage actually remains there today. Quite frankly, I found it depressing. I anticipate that getting to and from work will be the hardest parts of my day.

If I were to be totally honest, I would have to say that I am probably also a little bit irrationally anxious about working in the building where I’m working. I’m high up in the building and I keep imagining what it would have been like had I been working there five years ago. I used to work on Wall Street about six years ago, but even that wasn’t right across the street like this place. It’s a bit strange. I hate talking about it but I feel like I can’t talk about today and my first day on the job without talking about those impressions on my commute.

All that aside, I got to work to find that I do not have a computer at the office. That’s right. Not only do I not have access to blogs, I don’t have access to internet. And not only do I not have access to internet, but I don’t have access to iTunes. And not only do I not have access to iTunes, but I don’t have access to ANYTHING technology-related whatsoever.

For some reason, I am going back again tomorrow. Oh yeah. The electric bill. I knew there was some kind of reason.

10 responses to “On the Job

  • treespotter

    congratulations and good luck!

    PS: how is it that you don’t have access to anything? you work in some ultra secret military complex?

  • treespotter

    congratulations and good luck!

    PS: how is it that you don’t have access to anything? you work in some ultra secret military complex?

  • Anonymous

    my. worst. nightmare.

    but then again, i always thought that technology would be the downfall of productive civilization. maybe it’s better this way.

  • Anonymous

    my. worst. nightmare.

    but then again, i always thought that technology would be the downfall of productive civilization. maybe it’s better this way.

  • Karen

    Well, I’m glad you did talk about your impressions. It would be very weird if you said where you worked and didn’t mention anything about 9/11.

    Anyway, electricity and gas will sure come in handy for those cold winter nights ahead, so it’s good you got the job. Too bad about the computer situation, though. (Did you know about it ahead of time?)

  • Karen

    Well, I’m glad you did talk about your impressions. It would be very weird if you said where you worked and didn’t mention anything about 9/11.

    Anyway, electricity and gas will sure come in handy for those cold winter nights ahead, so it’s good you got the job. Too bad about the computer situation, though. (Did you know about it ahead of time?)

  • the Caitlinator

    Supposedly I will eventually get a computer but they tell me it could take up to FIVE WEEKS to get a login and password. Perhaps they need to work a bit with their IT department, perhaps bribe them with chocolate chip cookies or something? I am going to die.

  • the Caitlinator

    Supposedly I will eventually get a computer but they tell me it could take up to FIVE WEEKS to get a login and password. Perhaps they need to work a bit with their IT department, perhaps bribe them with chocolate chip cookies or something? I am going to die.

  • AnnieElf

    I am very glad you wrote about this Caitlin. Writing about it keeps the anxiety from building up and remember, what you focus on expands. So don’t focus on the negative too much, OK? Think of the beauty of your memories and don’t let those people take that away from you or they will continue to “win”. My daughter passed through NYC about 2 1/2 years ago and made the pilgrimage to WTC. It is a sobering memory for her.

  • AnnieElf

    I am very glad you wrote about this Caitlin. Writing about it keeps the anxiety from building up and remember, what you focus on expands. So don’t focus on the negative too much, OK? Think of the beauty of your memories and don’t let those people take that away from you or they will continue to “win”. My daughter passed through NYC about 2 1/2 years ago and made the pilgrimage to WTC. It is a sobering memory for her.

Leave a Reply

