It’s Fall.

To me, fall is all about smell. Cinnamon, apple pie, cloves, and cider, fresh baked pumpkin bread, dried leaves, and slow-cooked chili with melting cheddar cheese on top… It’s about the rich, warm aroma of life as I sit with my legs curled underneath me on the couch, pulling a handmade afghan up around my ears, a steaming hot cup of caramel cider in my hands.

But of course fall is also about the colors. The reds, golds, and oranges, latent pale greens offsetting autumn with their fading reminders of summer. It’s blue sky and yellow rays of light that bounce on dancing leaves, drifting occasionally to the soft earth. I witness the beauty of wilting sunflowers at sunset in a wide open patch of pumpkins. Clouds drift by and I feel opened up, standing there picking my apples.

Fall is about football and the World Series and sweaters and new shoes. It’s midterms and snuggling with the one you love. Families and holiday shopping and preparing for the winter ahead. It’s Ella Fitzgerald and scented candles and hot showers with scented body oils and fresh fluffy towels.

I have never loved fall because all I could see was the beginning of the brutal cold of winter. This year I love fall. This year I’m stopping to smell the cinnamon cider and to bake the banana bread. This fall I’m warming my heart for winter.

12 responses to “It’s Fall.

  • scott

    I LOVE this post almost as much as I love that banner graphic. What are the chances that there would be two streets with those names?

    Wait. Was this street corner the inspiration for the name of your blog? That’s even more cool.

    Seriously, though, you’ve captures the essence of Autumn so well, and that graphic rocks.

    Hello, Caitlin.

  • scott

    I LOVE this post almost as much as I love that banner graphic. What are the chances that there would be two streets with those names?

    Wait. Was this street corner the inspiration for the name of your blog? That’s even more cool.

    Seriously, though, you’ve captures the essence of Autumn so well, and that graphic rocks.

    Hello, Caitlin.

  • eclectic

    I’m baking banana bread today with the kids. And we’re having the most spectacular weather, and the kitty’s going to be okay, and I’m feeling the love of fall right with you. Great post, and awesome banner.

  • eclectic

    I’m baking banana bread today with the kids. And we’re having the most spectacular weather, and the kitty’s going to be okay, and I’m feeling the love of fall right with you. Great post, and awesome banner.

  • Karen

    Your post reminds me that I need to learn to embrace fall.

    Well, I’m working on it.

  • Karen

    Your post reminds me that I need to learn to embrace fall.

    Well, I’m working on it.

  • fiction dept

    I love the banner, too! 🙂

    Personally, fall is my favourite season. Fall in New England. Fall in NZ isn’t quite the same and fall in Texas doesn’t really exist.

    I love the crispness in the air, the smells, the changes to the trees, everything about it. I’ve written a poem about fall and New England. Might dig that out and post it on my own blog. Hmmm…

  • fiction dept

    I love the banner, too! 🙂

    Personally, fall is my favourite season. Fall in New England. Fall in NZ isn’t quite the same and fall in Texas doesn’t really exist.

    I love the crispness in the air, the smells, the changes to the trees, everything about it. I’ve written a poem about fall and New England. Might dig that out and post it on my own blog. Hmmm…

  • Jill

    mmmmm… yeah, what scott said. except he’s in texas, and i’m really close. close enough to share that banana bread.

  • Jill

    mmmmm… yeah, what scott said. except he’s in texas, and i’m really close. close enough to share that banana bread.

  • the Caitlinator

    Thanks, everyone!

    Scott, I think I saw street signs on the next corner that read “Caveat Emptor.” You should check it out sometime.

    Shari, I am SO HAPPY your cat is ok and that you’re baking banana bread. I could smell it all the way over here and it smells delicious.

    Karen, This will be the first year I have ever tried to like fall. It too is a start.

    FD, I can’t wait to read the poem when you post it! There is something special about autumn in New York. Ella sang a song about it and everything!

    Jill, I would love to share my banana bread with you. Name the time and place.

  • the Caitlinator

    Thanks, everyone!

    Scott, I think I saw street signs on the next corner that read “Caveat Emptor.” You should check it out sometime.

    Shari, I am SO HAPPY your cat is ok and that you’re baking banana bread. I could smell it all the way over here and it smells delicious.

    Karen, This will be the first year I have ever tried to like fall. It too is a start.

    FD, I can’t wait to read the poem when you post it! There is something special about autumn in New York. Ella sang a song about it and everything!

    Jill, I would love to share my banana bread with you. Name the time and place.

Leave a Reply

