Daily Archives: October 2, 2006

There and Back Again, Again

Stupid question #1: Do you remember me?


Going in and out of the building, I feel like I’m back in 1997. New York City was still relatively new to me. Commuting was a big deal and the novelty hadn’t yet worn off. I enjoyed wearing “grown up clothes” to my big corporate office every day. It was exciting.


Stupid question #2: What are you up to these days?


I think it takes a certain type of person to work in these types of jobs. I think you have to love to bullshit. In fact, I think you have to be a born bullshitter. This, I think, he was.


Stupid question #3: Why do I still care?


I push my way through the turnstile every night and head down the stairs among the other corporate junkies to catch my train home. All roads lead into and out of this place. When I turn my head left, I see the way home. When I turn to the right, I want to cry.

He was there that day. He survived, and that is all I know.