Just Checking In

I rocked the casbah on my art history midterm on Friday.

That’s right. Rocked. The casbah.

Life has been a whirlwind surrounding that midterm. I spent every free moment I had between last Saturday and Friday making and studying flash cards for that test. While I was making dinner, while I was running on the treadmill, while I was brushing my teeth, while I was watching the Mets lose, while I was not sleeping on the subway, those flashcards were all but glued to my hands.

And during the exam, it took every bit of restraint I had not to jump up after every slide he showed on the screen, pump my fist in the air, and yell out, “FUCK YEAH!” I don’t often get nervous before tests, but this one scared the shit out of me. Because when your professor hands you a list of 60 works of art you’ve never seen before and tells you you’re responsible to know the titles, artists, dates, and locations of all those works, AND be prepared to discuss those works and their meanings, wouldn’t you get a little nervous too? Yeah, maybe it’s just me. But still. I walked out of that test feeling like a million dollars.

And so of course I had to celebrate. I’ve been celebrating all weekend. And now it’s really time to get back to reality, because I have a Spanish midterm coming up on Tuesday that I probably should at least open a book for ahead of time.

This week, I’ve been tired, but happy. This is all so new to me, this feeling of being tired, but happy. For me, being tired is usually synonymous with being depressed. But now, I’m tired because I’m doing things that I love. I feel like a dog whose owner has FINALLY taken her outside to play ball for about six hours straight after ten years of being ignored. I’m so happy, but I’m just laying in a heap on the floor until I can regain my senses and go back for more.

Yes, I have just compared myself to a dog. That’s right, I’m a BITCH, bitch! But I’m a bitch who knows her art history. And THAT is something.

24 responses to “Just Checking In

  • Karen

    Glad you did well. Glad you’re tired from doing something you enjoy. And see, time on the subway can be productive. You just have to find a use for it.

  • Karen

    Glad you did well. Glad you’re tired from doing something you enjoy. And see, time on the subway can be productive. You just have to find a use for it.

  • Anonymous

    i STILL have nightmares from my art history classes in college. i don’t care what people think, that shit is HARD!

  • Anonymous

    i STILL have nightmares from my art history classes in college. i don’t care what people think, that shit is HARD!

  • Heather Anne

    good work on the rock. you are not a bitch. πŸ™‚

  • Heather Anne

    good work on the rock. you are not a bitch. πŸ™‚

  • eclectic

    Right ON!! I know that feeling and it is the best. Congratulations!! Good luck on the Spanish midterm.

  • eclectic

    Right ON!! I know that feeling and it is the best. Congratulations!! Good luck on the Spanish midterm.

  • fiction dept

    woo-hoo! I think it would’ve been cool if you’d jumped up after each one, pumped your fist in the air and yelled, ‘Fuck, yeah!’ …it at least would’ve been an interesting social experiment… πŸ™‚

  • fiction dept

    woo-hoo! I think it would’ve been cool if you’d jumped up after each one, pumped your fist in the air and yelled, ‘Fuck, yeah!’ …it at least would’ve been an interesting social experiment… πŸ™‚

  • ridiculous

    isn’t learning fun???

  • ridiculous

    isn’t learning fun???

  • alissa

    Ok, I’m an art history major and I NEVER rocked the casbah on those exams. Go you! I have a horrible time memorizing, luckily my classes don’t involve much memorization anymore. Seriously, those survey classes were a bitch.

    However, if I do go on to get my masters in AH, I will be handed a list of 120 works from all eras to memorize for the slide exam which I will need to get at least an 80% on to get my masters. Why do they insist on making everything so hard?

    Anyways, Congratulations!

  • alissa

    Ok, I’m an art history major and I NEVER rocked the casbah on those exams. Go you! I have a horrible time memorizing, luckily my classes don’t involve much memorization anymore. Seriously, those survey classes were a bitch.

    However, if I do go on to get my masters in AH, I will be handed a list of 120 works from all eras to memorize for the slide exam which I will need to get at least an 80% on to get my masters. Why do they insist on making everything so hard?

    Anyways, Congratulations!

  • Anonymous

    Congrats on the exam.

    You made me laugh out loud. You are pretty funny. I check back in on you.

  • Anonymous

    Congrats on the exam.

    You made me laugh out loud. You are pretty funny. I check back in on you.

  • Jill

    Nice work! I love art history, and I recall that the quizzes used to make me nervous. But it feels so fulfilling when you kick art history ass. Also, then when you go to large museums, and realize you know random facts before reading the signage, and blurt them out… ok, I’ll shut up now. I’m just a big geek.

  • Jill

    Nice work! I love art history, and I recall that the quizzes used to make me nervous. But it feels so fulfilling when you kick art history ass. Also, then when you go to large museums, and realize you know random facts before reading the signage, and blurt them out… ok, I’ll shut up now. I’m just a big geek.

  • eclectic

    I got the coolest thank you card in the world!! I’m saving it so that when you’re famous some day, I can frame it and turn down all the offers to buy it. That was awesome — thanks!!

  • eclectic

    I got the coolest thank you card in the world!! I’m saving it so that when you’re famous some day, I can frame it and turn down all the offers to buy it. That was awesome — thanks!!

  • toadman

    Congrats on the exam. You’re gonna rock the world girl.

  • toadman

    Congrats on the exam. You’re gonna rock the world girl.

Leave a Reply

