Random Points

It’s a lonely, cold, and rainy Friday night. I should be drunk, but for some reason I’m sober. I should be sleeping, but for some reason I’m awake. I shouldn’t be writing, but for some reason I am. Go figure.

Billy’s been in Florida all week, helping his parents move into his sister’s place in Jacksonville. I’ve been in New York, bringing home the bacon. I miss Billy. I do. And not just because he buys me drinks on Friday nights, either. A large part of why I miss him is because when I stand next to him and give him a big hug, my head fits perfectly into his chest and under his chin and that always feels good.

I ordered a desk from Target online last week and was so excited when it arrived on Tuesday! I finally got around to trying to put it together tonight but was sorely disappointed to discover that a few structurally-significant pieces were missing from the box and now I will likely have to wait several weeks until I have a desk of my own. It looks like I will have to continue using the dining room table for a while longer yet.

I haven’t felt very creative lately. I have been writing, though not blogging, and not writing in any creative manner. I have been taking photos, but more of the snapshot variety, and not of the artistic caliber that I am accustomed to taking. Usually at this time of year I am three-quarters of the way through crocheting some kind of afghan but this year I don’t even have any yarn. Granted, I’ve been busy acing midterms (even the ones I recently discovered I never had to take*) and bringing home the bacon, but still… creativity has been lacking, and I find that sad.

I think I’ll turn on a movie, even though it’s almost midnight and I’ll probably fall asleep in ten minutes. It’s probably as close to not being alone as I’ll get this evening.

*I found out on Wednesday evening that I did fulfill my language requirement in high school after all. No one told me that three years of high school Spanish included the years of Spanish I took in 7th and 8th grades. So this essentially is the third time I’ve taken this level of Spanish, since I also made the same mistake during my first undergraduate degree. It’s too late to drop the class for a refund and I need the credits to keep my health insurance (which they still haven’t reinstated) so I guess I’ll just keep it as a GPA-booster. So sad. Since I’m taking this course unnecessarily, I would much rather it was at least at a level I have never completed. Oh well.

12 responses to “Random Points

  • Neil

    Estoy apesadumbrado para su soledad

    (I’m sorry for your loneliness)

    But you knew that with your Spanish…

  • Neil

    Estoy apesadumbrado para su soledad

    (I’m sorry for your loneliness)

    But you knew that with your Spanish…

  • the Caitlinator

    Neil, I know that if anyone understands, it would be you.

  • the Caitlinator

    Neil, I know that if anyone understands, it would be you.

  • fiction dept

    There must be some reason that you have taken this level of Spanish over and over again… it just isn’t clear to you, yet. 🙂

  • fiction dept

    There must be some reason that you have taken this level of Spanish over and over again… it just isn’t clear to you, yet. 🙂

  • Karen

    When I went to university, I was not allowed to repeat anything they even suspected I might have already done. They made me take Advanced level German, with all the people who lied about the fact that they were bilingual (so they could get an easy credit).

    I miss your photography, by the way. Hope you get some time to pursue it again in the near future.

  • Karen

    When I went to university, I was not allowed to repeat anything they even suspected I might have already done. They made me take Advanced level German, with all the people who lied about the fact that they were bilingual (so they could get an easy credit).

    I miss your photography, by the way. Hope you get some time to pursue it again in the near future.

  • eclectic

    Hope you weren’t lonely the whole weekend. Being alone is one thing, but feeling lonely is quite another.

  • eclectic

    Hope you weren’t lonely the whole weekend. Being alone is one thing, but feeling lonely is quite another.

  • Jill

    I hope your weekend improved. Did you just republish this? Because for some reason, it just magically appeared in my Bloglines just now. As I was staring at my blogroll. Strange things are afoot in the internets.

  • Jill

    I hope your weekend improved. Did you just republish this? Because for some reason, it just magically appeared in my Bloglines just now. As I was staring at my blogroll. Strange things are afoot in the internets.

Leave a Reply

