Running, Running

About a year ago, I joined a gym and started running. If I remember correctly, my first “run” was at a pace of a 28-minute mile.

Now, a year later, I’ve dropped down to a solid ten-minute mile and even once ran the entire loop at Central Park in just over an hour. I know none of these numbers are really all that phenomenal, but for me, someone who has never in my life been anything even close to resembling an athlete, it’s pretty damn awesome.

Over the months that I’ve been running, I have discovered that I absolutely love it. I love the challenge of it, the feeling that I’m doing something that is difficult for a lot of people to do, that I’m conditioning my body. I feel healthier, more alive, awake, confident.

Today I’m watching the New York City marathon for the first time ever and I have decided that someday before I die, I am going to run this marathon. I’m writing it down here so I never forget my pledge. I love that I set these crazy goals for myself, because every once in a while when I achieve them, I get such a sense of satisfaction out of it. If I can go from the loser in gym class who always got picked last to actually running the New York City marathon, I think I can probably do just about anything.

I can’t wait to get out there and start running.

22 responses to “Running, Running

  • toadman

    I love running too. Well, I think I love the ‘idea’ of the challenge more than the actual work. Still, I like it. The problem is that, because of my working out so much recently, I’ve developed Plantar Fasciitis, and it pisses me off, alot.

    Still, I’m going to have to get a brace, and get through it anyway. I’m still doing weight training as often as I can get away from the office…

  • toadman

    I love running too. Well, I think I love the ‘idea’ of the challenge more than the actual work. Still, I like it. The problem is that, because of my working out so much recently, I’ve developed Plantar Fasciitis, and it pisses me off, alot.

    Still, I’m going to have to get a brace, and get through it anyway. I’m still doing weight training as often as I can get away from the office…

  • Heather Anne

    You can do it! 🙂

  • Heather Anne

    You can do it! 🙂

  • ridiculous

    caitlin – i’ve been inching toward a half marathon which takes place in april as a precursor to a (someday) full marathon. maybe we can train together/motivate each other.

    first i’ve got to also be bold enough to post it on my blog. 🙂

  • ridiculous

    caitlin – i’ve been inching toward a half marathon which takes place in april as a precursor to a (someday) full marathon. maybe we can train together/motivate each other.

    first i’ve got to also be bold enough to post it on my blog. 🙂

  • Summer

    Go, Caitlin, go!

    As someone who hates to run, I applaud you even more. I’ve always wished I could be a runner. I just don’t think it’s meant to be for me, though. But you! You are doing it! And well!

    Hooray!

    WV: hiffy (no I am not kidding) Isn’t it…spiffy?

  • Summer

    Go, Caitlin, go!

    As someone who hates to run, I applaud you even more. I’ve always wished I could be a runner. I just don’t think it’s meant to be for me, though. But you! You are doing it! And well!

    Hooray!

    WV: hiffy (no I am not kidding) Isn’t it…spiffy?

  • Abigail

    Dude, I totally know how you feel. I started running a couple of years ago and I absolutely love it. Unfortunately, I sweat like CRAZY so it’s always a high-maintenance task. And then I got bad asthma and I waiting for them to finally get my medication right before I can start moving again.

    Wow, I got real whining there fast.

    I am so glad you love running and also setting goals. 🙂

  • Abigail

    Dude, I totally know how you feel. I started running a couple of years ago and I absolutely love it. Unfortunately, I sweat like CRAZY so it’s always a high-maintenance task. And then I got bad asthma and I waiting for them to finally get my medication right before I can start moving again.

    Wow, I got real whining there fast.

    I am so glad you love running and also setting goals. 🙂

  • eclectic

    Holy cow, Caitlin! Go GIRL!!! That’s fantastic! You’ll do it, too, I bet. Mind if I offer unsolicited adviec? Invest in excellent shoes. It makes all the difference if you run a lot. And see a podiatrist or physical therapist to get a gait analysis and orthotics if necessary. The wear and tear you’ll ultimately save on your knees and heels and hips is well worth it.

  • eclectic

    Holy cow, Caitlin! Go GIRL!!! That’s fantastic! You’ll do it, too, I bet. Mind if I offer unsolicited adviec? Invest in excellent shoes. It makes all the difference if you run a lot. And see a podiatrist or physical therapist to get a gait analysis and orthotics if necessary. The wear and tear you’ll ultimately save on your knees and heels and hips is well worth it.

  • treespotter

    go run! i’m always thinking about doing such things, never to actually get around doing it. useless.

    run for me!

  • treespotter

    go run! i’m always thinking about doing such things, never to actually get around doing it. useless.

    run for me!

  • Brookelina

    You go girl!!!

  • Brookelina

    You go girl!!!

  • AnnieElf

    I am so inspired by you Cait. The seachange of my life wants to include something like this. I will make it so.

  • AnnieElf

    I am so inspired by you Cait. The seachange of my life wants to include something like this. I will make it so.

  • eclectic

    Happy Thanksgiving, Caitlin!

  • eclectic

    Happy Thanksgiving, Caitlin!

  • kerrianne

    That’s! awesome. The marathon! idea, I mean. 🙂 Very awesome. I myself want to do one, too. I’m thinking: Portland. It’s supposed to be a good “beginners marathon.” I will probably pass out afterward, but by golly! it does sound pretty great.

  • kerrianne

    That’s! awesome. The marathon! idea, I mean. 🙂 Very awesome. I myself want to do one, too. I’m thinking: Portland. It’s supposed to be a good “beginners marathon.” I will probably pass out afterward, but by golly! it does sound pretty great.

Leave a Reply

