Stuff. And things.

Yesterday I ran two miles and today my calves have cramped up so much it is painful to the touch. I cannot afford an injury; it has taken most of my willpower to get back on a schedule after months of being sure each step would cause me to hemorrhage. And such a stupid injury, too, the calf tightness. Grr.

Tonight it is damn cold. I’m so glad Kathy came with me and helped me pick out the warmest winter coat in the world. Everyone else in New York City is walking around like piles of winter clothing with only their noses sticking out to point their ways, but not me. I have the most lightweight, warm, and comfortable coat in the world. Only the tips of my ears went numb on my way home tonight.

Billy bought me a KitchenAid mixer for Christmas, and I have already made a dozen peppermint brownies, three pounds of mashed potatoes, and eight dozen chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. And then I wonder why none of my clothes fit. I should start an online baking business or something.

It’s been almost two months to the day since I applied for that full time job and I finally have a scheduled appointment to meet with my supervisor for a preliminary interview. It is a formality; I have been working with this company for over a year already and the job is exactly the same one I am already doing. If all goes well, I should be interviewing with the hiring managers by the end of next week or early the week after. How nice it will be to have salary and paid time off again. What would be really great (aside from health benefits) is if my vacation time kicks in before I head down to Florida to get married in April. I’m not anticipating any miracles, though.

There is nothing to eat for dinner in my apartment. I’ve had to settle for peanut butter and jelly on a toasted English muffin. And I think, for calcium and a small dose of protein, I am going to have to have the cookies ‘n cream ice cream in the freezer. It’s either that or starve.

I can’t starve on only the second day of the new year, now, can I?

I think not.

Leave a Reply

