I accomplished a minor miracle.

For the past six weeks or so I have been obsessed with web design. In the process of building my first ever website from scratch, I’ve bitten off all my nails, which is not a habit I ever had in my whole life. I’ve torn out a lot of my hair and even considered becoming a caffeine addict and smoking Marlboro Reds in order to fully look the part.

I gave myself a crash course in Dreamweaver and designed a site I was pretty happy with. Then I taught myself how to register a domain for that site. And then I chose a host (which I am extremely happy with so far, by the way). And then I directed the domain to my site. And I uploaded my site. My images were missing. And then I redirected my image links. And then… I MADE A WEBSITE. That works. On other people’s computers besides mine. A minor miracle.

For the past week or so I have been debugging certain things. For instance some of the information I’d uploaded was factually inaccurate. Some photos needed updating. Some links didn’t work. There were a few typos. And some of the navigation was tricky if you didn’t live inside my head.

I’m still not 100% happy with it (what artist is ever 100% happy with their work, after all?). I’d wanted to incorporate a blog ON the site. I even managed to download AND install WordPress to my site and got it to work, but I don’t have the time or the anxiety medication required to design a matching template for it at the moment. So for now I am directing folks to a separate Blogger site for the blog portion. Someday when my heart rate returns to normal I’ll work on that some more.

In the meantime, I am happy to unveil caitlinandbilly.com! Take a look around and please tell me what you think. Tell me if I missed any typos or broken links or if any photos appear to be missing. Tell me if it blows up your monitor or something. I’m still not very trusting of the fact that I haven’t destroyed the whole entire internet with my ambition as a web designer. I have a newfound respect for professional web designers. Folks, if you haven’t done it already, please kiss a web designer today.

Most of all, enjoy!

8 responses to “I accomplished a minor miracle.

Leave a Reply

