First Day.

Today was my first day at my new old job and it was a lot like the other days I’ve gone in, except that today I got to wear a blue badge instead of a red one. For a long time I wore that red badge, thinking I was left out of the cool kids club. Now that I have the blue badge I sorta miss the freedom of being on the outside looking in. That’s always the way, isn’t it? The people who have straight hair want curly hair, people with curly hair want straight hair… I’m one of those who is lucky enough to have wavy hair that’s pretty easy to make straight OR curly, depending on my mood. See, if I had my way, we’d all have purple badges, and not just because purple is my favorite color, but c’mon, can’t we all just get along?

Then I realize all this is in my head and no one but me cares about the color of our stinkin’ badges.

My point is, the new job? It’s going great so far. Today I got to try to put together a metaphorical jigsaw puzzle with a few pieces missing, which always makes the puzzle far more fun. I got to fabricate the missing pieces, which sounds cooler than it actually is. And the only reason I’m speaking in metaphors that make no sense tonight is because I’m too tired to get up off the couch and actually go to bed right now.

4 responses to “First Day.

  • Karen

    I hate that “too tired to go to bed” feeling. Yay on the blue badge. Even though “Then I realize all this is in my head and no one but me cares about the color of our stinkin’ badges” made me laugh out loud.

  • Karen

    I hate that “too tired to go to bed” feeling. Yay on the blue badge. Even though “Then I realize all this is in my head and no one but me cares about the color of our stinkin’ badges” made me laugh out loud.

  • justarunningfool

    I’m glad to hear that the new job is going well for you…miss you over at SparkPeople as I’m sure do the rest of “the gang.” But just wanted to let you know you’re being thought of, and in a good way. 😉

  • justarunningfool

    I’m glad to hear that the new job is going well for you…miss you over at SparkPeople as I’m sure do the rest of “the gang.” But just wanted to let you know you’re being thought of, and in a good way. 😉

Leave a Reply

