Domestic Ingenuity.


My mom gave me and Billy a great new set of pots recently, which overloaded our kitchen cabinets to the point that we could no longer even close the cabinet doors. We’d been toying with the idea of getting a pot rack, but couldn’t find anything that didn’t cost a million dollars or that was practical for our situation. So, when Billy had a week off from work, instead of playing Guitar Hero all day long, he made us a pot rack!

I think in all it cost about $10 at most, mainly because we already had the latticework. It was small iron shelving unit my mom bought me when I moved into my first home. I used it for towels in a bathroom that had no storage. Here in Jackson Heights, we’d been using it as a plant stand. As you can see, we’re still using it as a plant stand! I love the dual purpose items.

Billy hung the shelves on their side with heavy-duty hooks and the pots are hung with simple S-hooks. The best part is there is actually a shelf above the rack to keep all our lids. And, it’s pretty!

The down-side is that I’m only 5’1″, which makes most of the lids inaccessible to me, but I’ve found that a little stepstool can do wonders.

And, as if that wasn’t enough, Billy also installed a dimmer switch in our dining room without a) killing himself, and b) burning down the apartment! Between that and the monkey stuff in our bathroom, it’s really starting to feel like home around here.

10 responses to “Domestic Ingenuity.

  • fiction dept

    that pot rack is pretty awesome! I am so afraid to nail or screw anything into the wall out of fear that the wall won’t be able to support the weight of the object I’m trying to hang… which explains perfectly why I have yet to hang much of my art work and photos in my new house… which isn’t very new any more since I moved in last May! Perhaps the hanging of your pot rack has inspired me to do something about that! Well done and thank you.

  • fiction dept

    that pot rack is pretty awesome! I am so afraid to nail or screw anything into the wall out of fear that the wall won’t be able to support the weight of the object I’m trying to hang… which explains perfectly why I have yet to hang much of my art work and photos in my new house… which isn’t very new any more since I moved in last May! Perhaps the hanging of your pot rack has inspired me to do something about that! Well done and thank you.

  • Caitlin

    One thing I would suggest if you’re afraid the wall won’t be able to support what you want to hang is to check for studs behind the drywall (assuming that’s what you’ve got). If you nail your shelving/artwork/whatever into studs, they will be able to hold a pretty significant amount of weight. You can find studfinders at the hardware store, or use the old, tap on the wall to find the spot that isn’t hollow technique.

    Good luck!

  • Caitlin

    One thing I would suggest if you’re afraid the wall won’t be able to support what you want to hang is to check for studs behind the drywall (assuming that’s what you’ve got). If you nail your shelving/artwork/whatever into studs, they will be able to hold a pretty significant amount of weight. You can find studfinders at the hardware store, or use the old, tap on the wall to find the spot that isn’t hollow technique.

    Good luck!

  • /brandon\

    pot and racks are two of my favorite things in the whole wide world so you would think pot racks would really send me tumbling into bliss. but, you know, not so much.

  • /brandon\

    pot and racks are two of my favorite things in the whole wide world so you would think pot racks would really send me tumbling into bliss. but, you know, not so much.

  • Karen

    Hey, that looks great! What an ingenious idea. And I also have found that step stools do wonders in the kitchen. (So much so that I have one for the laundry room as well.)

  • Karen

    Hey, that looks great! What an ingenious idea. And I also have found that step stools do wonders in the kitchen. (So much so that I have one for the laundry room as well.)

  • ridiculous

    your home projects always inspire me to make some improvements of my own…

  • ridiculous

    your home projects always inspire me to make some improvements of my own…

Leave a Reply

