Heat.

Yesterday when the temperature finally dropped to 94 degrees, Billy and I went out to the park to toss around the football for a while. Really, it was our excuse to go out for an ice cream cone, but while we were there we certainly had a good time getting sweaty. Towards the end my arms started to falter in the heat, and I started dropping a lot more catches than I was catching. One of the missed catches went into the fence where a man was sitting, watching the goings on of the park.

“Are you two boyfriend and girlfriend?” he asked.

“We’re married,” I answered. (Still feels good to say that, it does.)

“Well, have you got any friends for me? Because this is like every guy’s best dream come true.”

I laughed as I picked up the ball and walked away. “‘Das right,” I thought to myself. “This one’s damn special.”

Leave a Reply

