This round on me.

There’s been talk in the office – serious talk, from people who count – that there are job cuts imminent. The number we’ve heard about 60,000 times today is 15%, and the date is on or about September 30.

I have to be honest. The last two years have been a roller coaster ride for me in terms of jobs, so the prospect of potentially losing my job feels pretty normal in my day-to-day routine. I mean, it’d be nice to continue paying down debt and be able to go on vacations from time to time, but truthfully, I haven’t had a steady salary in so long that the four months I’ve recently enjoyed hardly seems normal to me yet.

Still, the turmoil in the office is rather real, and it’s odd to see people straining to appear “normal,” all the while wondering just how much longer they’ll have the privilege of working in an office with no color and a million fluorescent lights.

I suggested raising money for the company by walking around at 3pm every day with the bar cart. The idea did not go over as well as I’d hoped.

2 responses to “This round on me.

Leave a Reply

