It had to be something.

It’s after 10:00, which means it’s after my bedtime, but I am determined to do at least one thing good for my soul every day. Who knew writing on a website would be it?

Today’s been a long, enduring day and I’m glad it’s over. It hasn’t been bad OR good, just long. Worked at home, went to school, worked out at the gym, did more work at home, made dinner, cleaned up, and here we are.

Lately it’s coming clear to me that there is a definite lack of balance going on, where I spend most of my time trying to get things done for other people instead of doing the things that I want to do. Things I have neglected this summer include bike riding to the Cloisters, going to the beach, baking a key lime pie, redecorating the bedroom (though I swear I’m on it!), and making mad, passionate love to my husband every single day as many times as he can take it.

None of this is to say that I haven’t enjoyed the summer, but it was draining denying myself these simple things. So this weekend I have promised myself a day of painting and chili and football. And hubby. And in the meantime I’m going for an hour a day to do something I love.

Tonight blogging is it. Lucky you.

Leave a Reply

