Diwali Mela


I’m an active member of the Diversity Team at my office. One of the events I am working on putting together with the team is creating a cultural cruise around the world, which will be a celebration of different holidays across different cultures across the universe. (OK. Not the universe. But I’ve had two martinis tonight (which I mixed myself), so bear with me.)

The port of call for which I am responsible is the celebration of Diwali in India. I figured, hey, I live in Jackson Heights! It’s just like I’m from India!

So yesterday I went to the Diwali Mela here in Jackson Heights, which is the celebration of Diwali via a street fair about one block from my apartment. I can’t say I felt transported to a foreign land, but the samosa I ate sure was good, and so was the music. The crowds, well, let’s just say one or two folks may have inadvertently gotten it in the ass, but those are the risks you take when you jam 10,000 people into a space made for 400.

Anyway, I took some photos of the event and since I am in the sharing mood these days, you can view the set here. And yes, I did just post to my blog two days in a row. Don’t get used to it.

One response to “Diwali Mela

  • toadman

    GOD I love Indian food. It’s my favorite. I would have come home stinking of masala and curry and onion kulcha had I gone with you to this…but it would have been a good stink.

Leave a Reply

