SOMETHING.

I don’t really have anything to say tonight, but I do have more than three minutes to string together and it’s been a while since my last post, so I sort of feel obligated to say, well, to say SOMETHING.

There’s not a whole lot going on in my world. Still reeling a little from the job cuts at work, even though my job is (at least for now) safe. Work, actually, has exploded in the last week or so and I have had more to do than can possibly be done in a single day, or even a bunch of single days put together. This fact, along with the fact that it is after 10:00 at night and I’m still obsessing over work, confirms to me that it was a good idea to choose either school or work, and not both. I just can’t obsess about everything. It isn’t healthy.

One thing that got on my nerves was when my painting teacher told me that my painting was “cheesy” and “a step backwards.” I know the spirit in which he intended the comments, and I also know that what I was painting was just a beginning and nothing like the end I intended, but it still stung and I all but went home crying. I couldn’t paint anything else after that, and that just goes to show that when I am too busy worrying about work, I can’t fortify myself to be able to handle criticism in a useful way. So it is a good idea that I chose either work or school, and not both. I just can’t obsess about everything. It isn’t healthy.

I heard the black guy won the election the other day. I don’t really have much to say in commentary. I’ve just been sitting back and watching the reactions around me. I will say that I worry a bit about the way people are deifying him. Who can live up to those standards? I’m not sure he’s the savior we all want. Which isn’t to say I don’t think he was the best candidate, or that I don’t think he is intelligent, determined, and capable. I just don’t think he’s GOD. I also think that, while it is definitely AWESOME that we’ve elected our first black president, I’m a little miffed that a) it took as long as it did to put racial differences aside in the first place, and b) we still care more about the color of someone’s skin than their accomplishments as a human being. We should have been beyond all this a hundred years ago. I’m having trouble getting excited about it. I dunno; I’m sure I’ll get a lot of hate mail for saying these things. Whatev. I’ve let the skin grow thick in light of the unsolicited painting commentary from a few days ago so bring it on.

2 responses to “SOMETHING.

Leave a Reply

