In the Christmas Spirit.

Today was a day I was counting down to for a long, long time, and it’s finally over. I have to say that it was a surprisingly good day. A really satisfying day. All the work I’ve been doing over the past few months really paid off and came together in a really fun event.

In other words, the Diwali event (among others) was a total success! People really enjoyed the henna tattoo artist that I hired, and wearing the bindis that I picked out, and tasting all the Diwali sweets on the table. The people on our team did a fantastic job making the space look and sound festive. We had a crowd at our table for the entire duration of the event. I had so much fun taking photos, getting my hand henna-ed, and mingling with “guests.” I almost didn’t even mind staying until 6:45 to get all my work done.

One of the other teams, which was celebrating various winter traditions in Mexico, put on a small play called a Pastorela, and that was the other highlight of the day. You haven’t lived until you’ve seen a bunch of lawyers dressed up for a Mexican nativity play set in New York City. I think the best part was when the shepherds got lost in Times Square, looking for the baby Jesus, and the tourists blew them off by telling them they didn’t have any spare change.

I took tons of photos on the day, and one of these days maybe I’ll even get around to downloading them from my camera. I still have a few things on my list to cross off before Christmas, but they are all fun things – writing Christmas cards, baking Christmas cookies, wrapping gifts… But that also means that I still don’t have time for culling and retouching photos.

Trust me when I say: some of these photos are worth the wait. At least, they are for me. And isn’t that what Christmas is all about, anyway?

Leave a Reply

