Before.

Before guests arrived for the cookies and cocoa party.

Before I finished that second glass of Jack on the rocks (but after I started it).

Before I spiked my cocoa with Goldschlager.

Before I spiked my cocoa with Bailey’s.

Before I spiked my cocoa with Frangelico.

Before I stopped paying attention to what I put in my cocoa.

Before I attempted to play the piano.

Before I realized I couldn’t even play the piano with one finger.

Before I tried to lead an a capella rendition of “O Little Town of Bethlehem.”

Before I failed at leading a round of Christmas carols.

Before I realized Neil was recording my futile musical attempts on my computer for his Christmahanukwanzaakah concert.

Before I broke the DVD player.

Before I broke the VCR.

Before I spilled half a gallon of milk on the table trying to make more cocoa.

Before I passed out on the couch (which may also have been before some of the guests left the party).

Before I woke up in a puddle of drool at 11:30pm wondering where everyone went.

Before I spent four hours wishing I could fall asleep.

Before I spent Monday wishing I was dead.

All was calm. All was bright.

One response to “Before.

Leave a Reply

