2009 in review.

My unofficial vacation is unofficially coming to an end. Starting Monday I go back into Headless Chicken Mode (HCM), which, frankly, annoys me slightly since quitting school was supposed to reduce the stress in my life.

But hey! It’s a new year and thus, a new life! Why not? I mean, hey. It’s just another 364 more days until I get another shot at starting again. And, when it comes to that, just another 357 days until Christmas and I get another unofficial start to another unofficial vacation. That’s not so bad, right? I can last 357 more days.

But maybe I don’t have to wait that long. I mean, it’s only 328 more days until Thanksgiving, and I get four days off for that. I think this year we’re going to Jacksonville, and I love to travel, even to Jacksonville.

But really, it’s probably even less than that, because come October we also plan to go to Chicago to see the Bears, and that’ll probably be another five-day mini-vacation like our trip to San Francisco. Based on last year’s home schedule, I reckon we’ve got only 295 days to wait for that.

And I bet over Labor Day weekend, Billy and I will want to go camping somewhere. Just 245 days until that.

And, this summer, my best friend Siggi and I are both turning 30, so we’re planning a trip to the Outer Banks for the week between our birthdays. 198 days until we head south for bonfires and guitar strumming on the beach at midnight.

Let’s not forget the all-important HONEYMOON, shall we? 115 days until we ship out. And, not a moment too soon!

March and most of April will be tough with not much exciting to look forward to, but come Presidents’ Day weekend, I will be on my way south to Bradenton to play with the pooch and, oh yes, spend time with my parents. A mere 42 days until my flight departs and I get to run barefoot on the beach at sunset.

And in two weeks, I get to go upstate to hang out with my friends in their new house that I haven’t seen except under piles of rubble. And, maybe, if she’s free, I can go have some coffee with Barbara. (Barbara, you up for that?)

In six days I will have the rest of my wisdom teeth removed, and while that’s not exactly something I am looking forward to, it will be nice not to have gobs of food stuck in the back of my mouth all the time. Plus, people will be nice to me for three days while I sit on the couch eating ice cream and watching football, so that’s not so bad. Sort of another unofficial vacation, no?

Dude, and tomorrow I get to go to the Coffee Pot to hang out with my best friend in the whole world, and that is always something to look forward to.

So, maybe, this unofficial vacation isn’t over just yet. It’s all the stuff in between that constitutes the interruption of the norm. Vacation – it’s a state of mind. And a matter of knowing how to count backwards.

Leave a Reply

