Update

Beyond my computer situation, things are going pretty well these days. Last Friday I had the last of my wisdom teeth removed and today the swelling seems finally to have subsided. I am still painfully aware of the six stitches still in my gums, and feel something like a bruise on my jaw, but at least it is getting better. I went for a 3-mile run this evening, despite the throbbing in my mouth, and who knew? Running is apparently soothing for jaw pain. The throbbing has stopped and I haven’t even taken any ibuprofen in hours. Go figure.

I have been trying to stay creative in order to balance out the very dry nature of my job, and to that end, I finally ordered prints of my photos from Africa that I took in January 2006. My goal is to put them into an album. So far I’ve got the cover completed, and I’m very happy with it. Just 50 pages, 115 photos, and two weeks of journal entries to go. (I think we’ve established that I don’t really do small projects here, right?)

I also bought a wedding album, so I have been furiously uploading wedding photos to Flickr. I’m averaging about 100-150 photos a day, and once they’re all there, I’ll start sorting through them, tagging them, and getting ready to choose the ones to put into the album. I’m also thinking a short video of wedding photos would be in order, and now that I’ve got some software to help me with that, it seems suddenly doable.

The project work is slow-going but rewarding. While all that is going on, I’m also in major spring cleaning mode, and using my weekends to ravage the apartment. Nothing is safe. I’m sorting piles of things to donate, things to throw away, and things to keep, and the plan is to make the place a bit more of a permanent home rather than the transitory place to hole up until the next place. The reality is, we are not going to have the money to buy a house for at least another 5-6 years, so we might as well hunker down and make this place as cozy as possible.

And, now that I have a computer monitor that is bigger than my whole entire body, I am going to need to devise an office area that is far more functional than this puny little desk I’m using now.

Don’t tell Billy, but I’m painting the walls of my office area purple. Shhh… I haven’t even told him yet that I’m claiming half of the living room as my office, either.

Leave a Reply

