Running, Running, Fast as I Can…

Today I went running in the rain. I got outside and saw that drops were falling, but I thought it was just a misty sort of rain, so I went anyway. I came back 45 minutes later, completely drenched and cold, but weirdly, invigorated. My iPhone tells me that I ran 4.48 miles in 36 minutes, which is utter bullshit. I think the GPS got lost somewhere between miles 1 and 2 and took the scenic route. My guess is it was more like 3.3 miles in 36 minutes, but while I am not too lazy to go outside and run 3 miles in the rain, I am too lazy to map the actual distance traveled. C’est la vie… the truth, unlike my GPS statistics, cannot be altered. (Right?)

Yesterday I registered for four road races between May and June: a 4-miler on Mother’s Day, the American Heart Association 5k on May 19, a women-only 10k on June 7, and a 5-miler on Father’s Day. I have no idea if I am or can be physically capable of running more than four miles at a time, given my history, but I think I’ve finally gathered the courage to try again. This time I’m taking it REAL slow, giving my body lots and lots of time to get used to the idea of running and running and running and running. Not to get into too many specifics for the non-runners out there in the world, but I’m thinking my weekly schedule will include one easy run, one speed run, and one long run, starting in about three or four weeks. I’m at 9 miles per week now, and I want to be at about 12-15 miles per week before I start working on speed or distance. We’ll see how that all works out; I haven’t quite got the math figured right, I don’t think.

The running is helping my mood somewhat, however. It’s the time I’ve got that is mine, the time to enjoy the out-of-doors and to see the crocus blooming and the buds on the trees. It’s why I don’t mind so much having to run in the rain or the cold or when I have somewhere else to be. Last week I’m fairly sure I saw Bill Cowher while I was running. The only reason I’m sure it was him is because I wasn’t sure at the time. Every time I’ve thought to myself, “You know, that really looks like _______,” I have been right and didn’t know it. He did smile at me, so I’m going with it.

Me and Bill, we are old running buddies, now.

Leave a Reply

