Groovin’ right along.

I’m sitting here listening to “Wedding Bell Blues” by the 5th Dimension, which is funny only because when I told my mom five years ago that I was dating a guy named Bill, she immediately took to calling him, “Bill I love you so I always will,” and, well, then we got married. So it’s sort of like a theme. Anyway, unrelated tangent aside.

This morning I went and ran my four mile race, the first one where I was actually timed and ranked. I finished in 45:06, with an average pace of 11:16 miles, and ranked 3,903rd out of 4,635 total runners. I think that is not bad, considering two years ago I thought I might not ever run again.

I’ve been sort of slowly pushing myself to be able to run a 10k. My thinking is, if I can run 10k on a fairly regular basis, maybe I can run a half-marathon after all. And if I can do that, maybe I can follow through on my dream to run the NYC Marathon someday. It won’t be this year, perhaps, but before I die would be great. (After I die would be weird, but I’d take it.)

The first thing I will do after running the NYC Marathon will be to go back to my doctor’s office and shout very loudly into his face, “PBLTHTHTHTHTHTHTH!” The cool thing about my doctor, though, is that he’ll totally laugh and pat me on the back with hearty congratulations.

But for now, I’m really happy with my 11-minute miles. It’s a (running) step in the right direction.

2 responses to “Groovin’ right along.

Leave a Reply

