Priorities wha…?

Today’s been a day for understanding limits and priorities. I’ve never been a big fan of prioritizing. Everything’s important, damn it! That’s probably why I’m always so burnt out. Today was probably the first day that people at work started to get their bearings back and I found myself crossing over the line from pleasantly busy to mildly stressed. It’s also the first time this year that I had to make choices about what to do when I got home from work. I just couldn’t do everything I wanted.

What made the cut: going food shopping, working out on the Wii, making an awesome poached tilapia with cucumber dill sauce, tomato and red onion salad, and boiled potatoes, harvesting my crops on Farmville, and writing here! What didn’t make the cut: preparing chicken wings for dinner tomorrow night (how much work are THEY to make from scratch? What a bad idea to buy those things), watching TV, knitting, otherwise putzing. I guess I did manage to get the important stuff done after all.

I’ve also had to start thinking about the reality of all the trips I want to take this year. I have started to think that I might need to prioritize that list and spread it over a couple of years. While I’m raring to go!, there’s just so much money we can afford to put toward these trips. I think over the next couple weeks, I’ll need to try to estimate what I’ll need in my budget for each trip and then see what is feasible and what isn’t. I wish I had Heather Anne’s cool Excel file to help me, or maybe just Heather Anne herself… Heather Anne, if you’re reading, please patent and market this tool for us laypeople who need to travel too!

Anyway, that’s about where I am tonight. I just want to make a point about the pointlessness of my posts lately. Some people may wonder why I came out of the woodwork after writing practically nothing for ages just to write this “dear diary” kind of drivel, and you might conjecture that it is a New Year’s resolution. And it’s not, really. It’s not that I want to write more, either. I think I just miss having a place to go to read about my own life. There will always be things I can’t write about here, but I can’t let those things consume me to the point that I have nothing to write about here, either. So it’s also something of a tether. I suspect that as time goes on, this will start getting more interesting to read, but honestly? I don’t care who reads it or doesn’t. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it yet or not, but 2010 is MY YEAR. It always was and always will be.

So there.

One response to “Priorities wha…?

Leave a Reply

