Out of destruction, life.

A week or so ago I watched the movie, Outsourced, which incidentally, I highly recommend seeing. I watched it primarily because my department is looking at doing some outsourcing of our own. Since I’m heading up one of the outsourcing teams, I’ve been on a lot of phone calls with my new colleagues in India and I thought it would be a fun and apropos way to bring it up as a discussion with our diversity team in the office (which I also head up).

It’s a great movie, and I really enjoyed it, but one of the things that really stuck with me is the idea of the Indian goddess, Kali, who is referred to as the goddess of destruction in the film. The image of Kali is pretty gruesome, and when our American hero asks why on earth you’d want the image of that goddess in your car, the Indian woman he’s with explains that out of destruction comes new life, new opportunities. In other words, you may crash your car, but that is part of the cycle of life, and it’s that cycle you are encouraging by having her there.

I’ve heard that concept before in other religions (“when god closes one door, he’s also opening a window,” to name one example), but for some reason it really touched a nerve for me in this film. Maybe it’s because of all the destructive energy that I’ve had in my life during the second half of 2009, and all the chaos of change I’ve been going through lately, but it really resonated for me. Out of destruction, comes life.

I don’t mean to sound insensitive when I bring this up, but I’ve had this thought running through my head today as I’ve heard the different responses to the recent earthquake in Haiti. I don’t know a whole lot about Haiti, but I do know that it’s a poor country with more than its fair share of problems. I mourn for the loss of life, of course I do. But at the same time, I can’t help feeling that there is an opportunity here, not just for the people of Haiti, but for the people of the world. It will be interesting to see what emerges from the rubble and the aftermath, and what new life can be born there. I would love to see people open more than their wallets on this, and maybe open a little more of their hearts. Maybe something big can be born out of this life lesson we are all learning.

Leave a Reply

