Forecast.

We’ve all heard a lot about the “snowpocalypse” down in DC and Philly over the weekend, which probably makes the little blizzard they’re predicting for NYC tonight and tomorrow seem like nothing but a little burst of flurries. They’ve preemptively canceled school in the city tomorrow. They did this amidst clear skies and seasonably warm(ish) weather. Schools in NYC never close. About the only times I can remember in the last 13 years that I’ve been living here are 9/11 and maybe one or two other times for weather. Usually a school closing here is related to a state of emergency — have they called that already, too?

Anyway, I don’t know if it’s been apparent, but I’m trying to maintain a positive attitude in 2010, and to that end, I’ve been sort of hoping for a real snowstorm to hit this season. I’d like to have the opportunity to go outside and throw some snowballs and maybe make a snowman. I’m going to come back to the apartment cold, wet, and cold because I have no snow boots and no waterproof gear whatsoever, but I would do this in the name of finding something worthwhile to enjoy about winter. And, probably also to find some good photo ops. Because I guess I can be a ho like that too.

I remember once many years ago (maybe 1993?) they preemptively canceled school on the prediction of snow. It was so strange to know the day before that I wouldn’t have to get up for my classes in the morning. I woke up that day feeling excited about being able to go sledding and build snowmen and all the other fun things that come with a blizzard. I was so disappointed when I woke up to see the sun shining on all the brown grass in the front yard. What a waste of a snow day.

I don’t know if tomorrow holds the same fate for me, but I will say that at the very least, it gives me something to write about. And who knows? Maybe tomorrow I’ll be introducing you to my own rendition of Frosty the Snowman.

Leave a Reply

