TV series.

There’s a lot to talk about. I’ve crossed a few more items off my list, but tonight I’m thinking about “Mad Men.” I know. TV. Who figured? Not me.

Billy and I have been renting the series on DVD and we just finished watching season 2. I am thoroughly addicted to this show. I don’t just watch it. I feel it. I have a sort of love/hate relationship with good drama, because I love it, but I get too involved. I want to BE the show. I crave the drama. And, well, let’s just say sometimes the drama isn’t all it’s cracked up to be, and I’ve learned that the hard way too.

I’m in a period of transition in my life. Things are changing all around me and I feel like I’m tethered to the ground, just bouncing around as things bump into me in the process. It’s odd to feel tethered and disconnected all at once, and yet, I do. I’m tethered to the ground in a storm and I have no control over which way the wind blows. I’m just alternating between squeezing my eyes shut and trying to take it all in before it’s all over and I don’t know what happened any more.

Maybe that’s why “Mad Men” resonates with me. I feel a connection to the character of Donald Draper. You can have it all and still feel like you have nothing, and have no idea why. You can always know the right answer and say the right things, but still be missing yourself in the process. I root for him.

There are no life answers on TV. Only questions.

Leave a Reply

