Two

I think most people use the end of the calendar year to look back, take stock, and see where they’ve come and what they’ve done over that past year. For me, our anniversary seems like the more perfect time to do this.

This past year has been filled with a lot of ups and downs, much like most people I know. As I look back over the photos from the places we went, the things we saw, the things we did, I am reminded how lucky I am to have shared them all with someone I love as much as you.

There was our belated honeymoon cruise to the Caribbean in late April. Our camping trip where we invented Rummy 10,000 while huddled in our tent throughout the 4-inches of rain deluge. Our week on the beach in the Outer Banks with Siggi and Brett. 2009 was our year for sports, and we went to Yankees games, the Nationals and Orioles game in Washington, DC, a Brooklyn Cyclones game, two Penn State football games, and even a Jaguars game. Sadly, I don’t have photos of that Jags game, thanks to the fact that my camera lens was too long to be considered “safe” by security standards. We bought a car this year, and it has allowed us to do so many new things we couldn’t do before. We ran amuck – or, well, I did – and you took pictures of me doing it. We cruised for Christmas and made the most of an otherwise sad holiday season. We bought new furniture for the living room and finally kicked that ugly green sofa to the curb. We went to San Diego and finally go to see where my brother lives, and sang our hearts out at the Shout House. After five years of talking about it, we got our asses up and out to the Cloisters.

What laces all of these fantastic moments together is the true realization that you really have made me so very happy. I’m so glad I let you into my life.

Check out this year’s anniversary photo here (WordPress doesn’t want to let me embed the video into my post, because I don’t want to pay for it, so I apologize for making you click through to see it): http://www.vimeo.com/10854762

One response to “Two

Leave a Reply

