Just have fun, kid.

Last week I finished reading The Lovely Bones. It was a very quick read, and I enjoyed it. There was one passage I had to dog-ear, because it really resonated with me:

“What’s his name?”

“Ray Singh.”

“Do you like him?”

“Yes.”

“Then what’s the holdup?”

“I’m afraid I won’t be good at it.”

“Susie?”

“Yes?”

“Just have fun, kid.”

I think that sentiment could apply to so many things. It’s so easy to worry your way out of a good time, and I am notorious for doing this. Life is too short to let so much potential joy get sapped up by needless anxieties!

I can remember only one time I didn’t have trouble just letting go, and that was when I was living in Italy, studying abroad. It was the best six months of my entire life, because I lived by that motto. I was there to have fun. Period. And I did. And it was great. No. It was FANTASTIC.

I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to live by that mantra here and now in the U.S., when I’m home and living “regular” life. So many details get in my way.

“Just have fun, kid.” Seriously.

Leave a Reply

