New Normal

I’ve been struggling with how much to share or not share about things that are going on with my mom, and have tried to err on the side of silence, out of respect for her privacy. But I think it would be fair for me to say that having to deal with anyone suffering with any mental illness or addiction or whatever is so not easy. There are so many ups and downs and unrealistic demands and what makes that hard is that they’re so unpredictable.

I’ve been doing my best to hold on tight on this crazy roller coaster ride and make the most of a crappy situation, but I’m not sure I’m doing a great job. There’s been a lot of ice cream and not much sleeping and some rather ill-advised shots. None of which have really helped improve the situation much at all.

It’s just hard for me, having already lost a dad, to be losing a mom too, and not just any mom, but honestly the best mom ever. It’s not that anymore, though, and every time I think I’m getting the hang of the new normal, something else happens to throw me off. I could really use a break. Sadly, none are forthcoming.

But the ice cream I just ate was pretty good.

One response to “New Normal

  • Karen

    So sorry about your new normal. But I have confidence that you can get through it. If ice cream helps, so be it.

Leave a Reply

